The history of the Kurhaus colonnades began 1816/17 with the construction of retail stores which were intended to connect the Kurhaus, still called „Conversationshaus", with the city centre. Soon these wooden stalls no longer met the standards of Baden-Baden and its guests. So in 1868 the plans of the district architect Karl Dernfeld were implemented and an attractive row of shops was built. Even today, the Kurhaus colonnades are popular with guests and locals alike for strolling and shopping.
The small shops embody the livestyle of Baden-Baden and combine the unique flair of the 19th century with a diverse assortment of high-quality articles. In more than 20 shops the owners offer a wide range of traditional and modern luxury brands.